Shoomp/Much More is a double A-side single by De La Soul released - TopicsExpress


Shoomp/Much More is a double A-side single by De La Soul released in 2003. Shoomp features Sean Paul, while Much More features the high-pitched vocals of Yummy Bingham. Both songs were produced by J Dilla, who at the time was exploring a sound more off-kilter than the neo-soul style that he was known for through his work with Erykah Badu, The Roots, and Common. The song was the first release from the group after they left their longtime label Tommy Boy, in 2002. After receiving poor promotion for their previous album AOI: Bionix, the group decided to find a new home and established their own independent imprint, called AOI Records. Shoomp contains samples from the intro to Sean Pauls hit song Like Glue, as well as Genius of Love by Tom Tom Club. Much More contains samples from Love Ballad by L.T.D. & elements of Strawberry Letter 23 by Shuggie Otis & The Brothers Johnson. The promo 12 single was edited in March 2003 with Much More as the A-side and Shoomp as the B-side. De La Soul and Yummy shot a live video of Much More on an April 2003 episode of Comedy Centrals Chappelles Show. When the single was released in the UK, Shoomp became the A-side, due to the popularity of Sean Paul, and Much More became the B-side. The 12 vinyl-only single was released on August 4, 2003 in the UK and reached number #85. De La Soul would perform Much More in Season 1 Episode 11 of Chappelles Show. Lupe Fiasco used the beat for Much More as well as Yummys chorus for a song of the same title on the mixtape Fahrenheit 1/15 Part II: Revenge of the Nerds. https://youtube/watch?v=TL1ScKCndnI
Posted on: Thu, 08 Jan 2015 18:03:25 +0000

Trending Topics

Recently Viewed Topics

© 2015