The Ijaw Youth Council (IYC) has finally resolved its impasse, - TopicsExpress


The Ijaw Youth Council (IYC) has finally resolved its impasse, barely few months after 17 members of the group laid claim to the top position of the group. A new executive committee has finally emerged in the group after the intervention of prominent Ijaw leaders. Those who intervened to broker peace in the group included Ijaw foremost leader, Chief Edwin Clark, who is said to have waded into the crisis to settle the discrepancy that led to the factionalisation of the group. It was learnt that the new executive council emerged over the weekend in Lagos following a hitch-free election exercise conducted based on the zonal agreement agreed upon in the group. Sources said the Presidential Adviser on Niger Delta Affairs, Hon Kingsley Kuku and Dr. Felix Tuodolor, Commissioner for Ijaw National Affairs, Bayelsa State as well as an Ijaw leader, T. K. Ogoriba were said to have midwifed the process of the election upon the mandate given to them by Clark and other Ijaw leaders. Former Secretary General of the council, Udengs Eradiri, whose earlier election was greeted with series of protests and allegations of manipulations, eventually emerged as the new IYC President General. Other executive members of the council elected based on the zoning agreement included; Comrade Rasaq Amatoru (Deputy President), Eric Omare (Spokesman), Comrade Wisdom Ukuli, (National Mobilisation Officer), Comrade Felicia Reginald Ngeri (National Women Leader), Ben Bowe (Treasurer), Alfred Kemepade (Financial Secretary), George Deinkoru (Assistant Secretary), Barrister Ekine O. (National Legal Adviser). Formal inauguration of the new leadership would be done by Ijaw leaders under the leadership of Clark next week in Yenagoa, the Bayelsa State capital. The swearing in ceremony is expected to be hosted by the Governor of Bayelsa State, Seriake Dickson.
Posted on: Wed, 26 Feb 2014 16:01:54 +0000

Trending Topics

Recently Viewed Topics

© 2015